Emergency Committee on the Impacts of Federal Workforce and Funding Reductions

Meeting Agenda

Virginia Tech Innovation Campus Alexandria, Virginia April 8, 2025 10:00AM to 3:00PM

- I. Welcome and Introductions
- II. Defining the Scope of Virginia's Federal Workforce and Economic Impacts
 - Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service:
 - Hamilton Lombard, Estimates Program Manager
 - João Ferreira, Regional Economist
 - Terry Rephann, Regional Economist
- III. Regional Perspectives on Workforce Impacts
 - Jill Kaneff, Senior Regional Demographer, and The Honorable John Chapman, Chairman, Northern Virginia Regional Commission
 - Mark Carrier, CEO BF Saul Hospitality, Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce
 - Patrick Small, City of Manassas Economic Development Director, Northern Virginia Economic Development Alliance
 - Alissa Tafti, Chair, NoVA Labor Federation's Federal Labor Caucus
 - The Honorable Jeff McKay, Chairman, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
- IV. Break from Noon to 1:00PM
- V. Overview of the Federal Budget Process
 - Jason Gleason, Principal and Wally Burnett, Senior Partner Crossroads Strategies
- VI. Federal Impact on Higher Education Research

- Deborah Altenburg, Vice President, Research Policy & Advocacy, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities
- VII. NOVAnext Partnership
 - Dr. Anne Kress, President, Northern Virginia Community College
- VIII. Member Roundtable
- IX. Adjourn

NOTE:

The Committee will be accepting online written comments via the following link: <u>HOD Speak</u>. The Committee requests that, to the extent possible, comments focus on (i) how federal spending and employment reductions have affected you, your family, and/or your community and (ii) specific policies, programs, and investments the Commonwealth could adopt to mitigate impacts on affected works and Virginia's economy.

Members:

Delegate David Bulova, Chair Delegate Robert Bloxom, Vice Chair Delegate Marcus Simon Delegate Vivian Watts Delegate Michael Feggans Delegate Bonita Anthony Delegate Joshua Cole
Delegate Josh Thomas
Delegate Anne Ferrell Tata
Delegate Hillary Pugh Kent
Delegate Tony Wilt
Delegate Ellen Campbell