## 25107202D

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 756**

Offered February 17, 2025

Commending Arlington Public Schools' recipients of The Posse Foundation or QuestBridge scholarships.

Patrons—Lopez, Callsen, Clark, Cole, Hope, Keys-Gamarra, Martinez, McClure, McQuinn, Rasoul and Ware; Senators: Bagby, Diggs, Ebbin, Favola, Hashmi, Pekarsky, Rouse and Salim

WHEREAS, in the 2024–2025 school year, The Posse Foundation and QuestBridge collectively awarded three students in Arlington Public Schools four-year college scholarships to partnering institutions of higher education; and

WHEREAS, The Posse Foundation presented full-tuition scholarships to Ethan Jones of Washington-Liberty High School, who will attend the University of Wisconsin, and Ross Donlon of Washington-Liberty High School, who will attend Lewis & Clark College in Oregon; and

WHEREAS, in addition to their scholarships, The Posse Foundation will also provide these two students with comprehensive programmatic support over their next four years in college; and

WHEREAS, one other senior in Arlington Public Schools, Lukas Korcinskis of the Arlington Career Center, was named a QuestBridge Scholar and was awarded a full-ride scholarship, including room and board as well as tuition, to attend Washington University in St. Louis; and

WHEREAS, in addition to his scholarship, Lukas Korcinskis will be supported in his college years and beyond through on-campus chapters and nationwide opportunities offered through the QuestBridge Scholars Network and QuestBridge Alumni Association; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend Arlington Public Schools' recipients of The Posse Foundation or QuestBridge scholarships for their hard work and dedication to their studies; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Arlington Public Schools' recipients of The Posse Foundation or QuestBridge scholarships as an expression of the General Assembly's heartfelt congratulations and best wishes in their future endeavors.